Hospital Horror

Posted: August 28, 2008 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

I’ve never been that prone to writer’s block. I have mental dysentery, there’s always something leaking out. It may be shit, but at least it’s something.

Ruts, however, are a problem. Infinite loops. Obsessive thinking. Not quite as bad as Jack in “The Shining,” cranking out hundreds of pages of “all work and no play make Jack a dull boy,” but sometimes I get so obsessed with finishing a story that I end up beating it into a pulp, leaving its creative juice to congeal on the floor. It’s important to finish what you start, but sometimes you have to cut your losses. Chances are that the ninth revision of I Was a South Beach Rasta Zombie is not going to be that much better than the eighth one. Or the seventh one.

Truth is, I haven’t been all that excited about any of the stories I’ve written since “The Lizard Pit.” (See “Read Mo’ Ho'” for link to podcast and Necrotic Tissue .pdf) That sucker just jumped out of my fingers. “El Dorado” may be a better story, but it was written and rewritten many times before I entered it in the Chizine contest. Lately, I’ve had some good starts on interesting ideas that I just couldn’t pull off.

About a week ago, I started a story to submit to Necrotic Tissue’s upcoming anthology, Malpractice: An Anthology of Bedside Terror. The first draft is already done, now it’s edit time.

Working title is “Available” and I’m having a lot of fun with this one. The real horror of all those real encounters with the American health care system bubbled up.

Maybe this one won’t suck. Inspiration helps.

Comments
  1. synnagain says:

    I can identify….

  2. Cate says:

    Good luck with your story for Malpractice.

  3. I really enjoyed THE LIZARD PIT Horace! It was really a good story and I do believe that you must have more of that in you for sure. My story, IT CRIES, didn’t make the anthology unfortunately, close but no cigar. It was featured in the premiere issue of Trei Literary Magazine however.

Leave a Reply

